Perspective, YA Posts

At the Guelph Public Library

Out of necessity, I visited the Guelph Public Library’s downtown branch.  Though I’m not a member, the reference librarian was very helpful and accommodating. She signed me into a computer and helped me print my readings for school.

Since beginning the MLIS program, it is impossible for me to enter a library and not try picture myself working there. I was (pleasantly) surprised to find that each floor had its own reference desk. I was also surprised by how young the librarians were, as I’ve been told time and time again that many librarians are due to retire soon.

After my readings were printed, I set off to explore the library.  The top floor of the library was brighter and more colourful than the other floors of the library. It took me a moment to realize that I was in the children’s section.  Worrying suddenly that I was very obviously out of place, I approached the desk, trying to think of a reason to be there. After I asked for a stapler, the librarian took out a small plastic box of office supplies and, unsmiling, carefully watched me staple my readings. Apart from being a little uncomfortable, it was also a stark contrast to the academic library where I work, where staplers, hole punches, and scissors are always available and always being replaced. It was a good reminder that public libraries exist for different reasons and prioritize difference services. I was very impressed by the programming the library offered. Displayed on a big calendar, it was clear that the staff were making an effort to reach out to teens and young adults as well as children.

The city is in the planning process for a new downtown branch – after looking carefully at the library, it’s obvious why. The current building is older and overflowing. The space is well used but crowded. It was mid-day on a Thursday and there was only one available seat on the main floor. The table I eventually settled at was smushed between computer work stations, microfilm readers, a battery recycle bin, as well as the Guelph Mercury archives.

Though the children’s area was by far the brightest and most open, I felt uncomfortable settling down to study there. What if I was violating some unspoken rule? What if someone asked me to leave? I left and heading back down to the main floor.  In retrospect, I wonder what it was exactly that made me feel so uncomfortable.  Maybe it was the unfriendly librarian? Maybe it was just the bright décor that made it obvious that the area was intended for younger library users. I find it very interesting that the effort made to encourage one group of users has the opposite effect on another group.

Standard

Leave a comment